BlogJune

It’s time for librarians, archivists and others to crank up their old websites and blog pages (like this one) and blog for each day in June  (http://www.flexnib.com/2014/05/22/blogjune-sign-up),apparently.  It’s not a challenge that I can honestly say I accept, given that I have now forgotten two commitments for the History Council of WA, have still to make a pair of fox crochet mittens, am working on AtoM for the SROWA, and trying to convince students that the Australian series system is superior (plus sueing an ex-tenant and keeping my mother-in-law focused on chemotherapy):but hopefully it will motivate me to at least write about the various posts and papers I see. I have also been meaning to post about my BoF at the dha2014 conference, so this might also motivate me. But tonight, I want to talk about ‘Orphan Black‘ (if you are watching the show and have yet to catch up on episode 2.07, there may be spoilers).

It’s a great show, all about dna and cloning, and some great hackers and coders (biological and computational), but tonight one of the key scenes focused on some old floppy discs. My first thought was “How are they going to read those?” and my second was, “Are they real?”. Because, of course, large black floppy discs are becoming increasingly rare.  They are also difficult to read. The evil science company wanted the scientist who created the data, as well as the floppy discs, which made sense to me.  How else are they going to find out what software was used to create and store the data, let alone how the data was to be interpreted?

I keep hearing that a new solution for storage has been invented. Storage is not, and never has been the problem; accessing, reading and interpreting data is.

Published by

inthemailbox

Archivist, historian, avid reader

Leave a Reply

