Frustrations with technology

Recently, I’ve been looking at some fun technology, that might be useful in helping me teach archives and other concepts to my students, many of whom are online via Open University Australia. A recent study, by Mike Kent, of Curtin University, has demonstrated that a significant proportion of this cohort of students identify has having learning difficulties, mental health issues and other challenges. One of the challenges is to allow students the freedom to study at their own pace, within a 13 week window, while at the same time providing for a sense of community. Another is to find ways of providing teaching resources that can be looked at any time, that are not all about reading something.

One of the ways of addressing some of the learning challlenges is by looking at ways of teaching visual learners.  I can’t draw, and I struggle with work flow diagrams and so on, so I am at a bit of a disadvantage. My colleague, Karen Miller, has been having some fun with bitmoji and bitstrips, so I thought I would give it a go.

First of all, it’s an app. For a phone or tablet device. I have a little Android phone, that only gets used for emergencies, and my iPad belongs to my other work and is lock down there while I am on secondment. It’s also quite old. Fortunately, Bitmoji is also an extension to Google Chrome, so I downloaded it there, and started to play. I can create an avatar, for use with gmail, but that’s about it.

Screen Shot 2016-06-19 at 12.03.34 PMTo do more, I needed to find a way to make the app work on my computer. So I’ve downloaded a program called Bluestacks, and I’ll give it a go.

 

Published by

inthemailbox

Archivist, historian, avid reader

Leave a Reply

