Updating #inthemailbox

It’s now just over a fortnight since I last blogged. I keep checking my wordpress site, as though words might suddenly start appearing without me adding anything; so far, nothing.

I’ve not been idle though. I’ve given it a new theme, which I think works better with the menus I now have. I’ve uploaded a new image, which is based on one from the Government photographer’s collection, currently held in the State Library of WA. My daughter has all the Adobe software loaded to this machine, which has not been updated in over a year, so updates were an issue. The image shows in Preview on the Mac, which allows me to view a sepia version. However, I couldn’t figure out how to save it in those tones. Eventually, I opened it in LibreOffice as a drawing and changed the red and green colour values, which I could then save and upload. (Getting the updates for Adobe may have been easier!)

The theme comes with a set of colour templates, including bright yellow, a mauve and purple set, red, wishy washy blue and a black set. I chose the yellow template, and have been blinded at each of those nervous wordpress checks I mentioned at the start. Finally, on Friday night, I worked out how to change the base colour to a more dignified bronze/gold.

In anticipation of the coming accreditation at Curtin, and just to play with the idea, I’ve also created an online teaching portfolio. Whether I stick with academia, in whatever capacity, or return fully to my substantive position at the end of the year, I now have something that will let people know what I have done for the past few years.

Let me know what you think of the changes, and what else you would like to see.

Published by

inthemailbox

Archivist, historian, avid reader

Leave a Reply

